Are Jet-Puffed Marshmallows Gluten-Free?

are jet puffed marshmallows gluten free

Marshmallows are a must-to-bring snack for camping or other outdoor activities. But, people who are having celiac disease or simply following a gluten-free diet might be wondering whether they contain gluten or not. If you go camping a lot, you must be familiar with some popular brands of marshmallows, including Jet-Puffed Marshmallows.

But, are Jet-Puffed Marshmallows gluten-free? Is there any alternative you can take to replace your favorite marshmallow?

What Ingredients that Gluten Hides in Marshmallows

Gluten is not an uncommon ingredient used in marshmallows. However, the manufacturers sometimes hide this ingredient under other names.

They do not specifically state “gluten” on the label of their products. In this way, you need to make sure that you read the ingredient list of the marshmallows carefully to see if there is a hidden name of gluten.

Take a look at the following list of names that gluten is often distinguished.

  • Wheat
  • Barley
  • Rye
  • Malt
  • Wheat starch
  • Wheat flour
  • Bran
  • Spelt
  • Flour
  • Triticum spelta
  • Triticum vulgare
  • Secale cereale
  • Hordeum vulgare
  • Modified food starch

Some other names you can use to distinguish that marshmallows (or other products) contain gluten are natural coloring, natural flavor, glucose, dextrin, maltodextrin, artificial flavor, hydrolyzed wheat protein, and hydrolyzed vegetable protein.

If you see these ingredients on a label, you should be careful that the marshmallows might contain gluten.

These ingredients might cause symptoms in people with gluten intolerant or those with celiac disease. Some of the symptoms that can be triggered by gluten are abdominal pain and bloating.

People with celiac disease or highly sensitive to gluten may also experience headaches, constipation, and diarrhea.

Though many marshmallows available in the US market just consist of gelatin, sugar, and water, some of them have gluten in their ingredient lists as well.

Jet-Puffed Marshmallows: are They Gluten-Free?

If you see the label of Jet-Puffed Marshmallows, you won’t see a “gluten-free” ingredient on the list. It isn’t stated on the label that the marshmallows contain gluten ingredients either. Thus, many people assume that they are gluten-free as well.

Jet-Puffed Marshmallows are considered safe for those with gluten intolerant. But this choice of marshmallow might not be an ideal option for people with celiac disease since you don’t know if it will trigger the symptoms or not.

According to Kraft Company, the manufacturer of Jet-Puffed Marshmallows, their products, including marshmallows, have a 50% chance of containing natural flavorings.

The ingredients come from their suppliers that use grains in gluten to make their products. In this way, Krafts’ marshmallows, including Jet-Puffed are not labeled “gluten-free”. However, a label should not be the only thing you rely on when looking for the best gluten-free marshmallow. The manufacturing process also plays a critical role.

There might be a subject to cross-contamination during the manufacturing process that you should put your concern on. There is always a possibility that the marshmallows might be processed on equipment used to process other foods containing gluten.

In this way, there might be a trace amount of gluten in the marshmallows because of the cross-contamination with other products.

People with gluten sensitivity might find it tolerable to eat marshmallows with a small trace of gluten but the same thing can’t be said to people with celiac disease.

The regulation by the FDA (US Food Drug and Administration) allows foods to be labeled “gluten-free” if they contain no more than 20 ppm (parts per million) of gluten.

The trace amounts of gluten caused by cross-contamination usually lower than 20 ppm, making them excluded from Nutrition Facts labels.

If you are having celiac disease, this is important to find marshmallows that have been tested and listed as “gluten-free” to ensure that there is no cross-contamination during the manufacturing process.

So, are Jet-Puffed Marshmallows gluten-free? Well, you need to use your best judgment when deciding whether Jet-Puffed Marshmallows are gluten-free or not. If you think your body can handle it, just pick up the marshmallows.

Alternative Gluten-Free Marshmallow Brands

Due to the absence of the “gluten-free” label of Jet-Puffed Marshmallow, it can be a tricky option if you are suffering from celiac disease. Picking up other marshmallow products might become a safer option to take. Here are some gluten-free marshmallow brands you can choose as an alternative.

Trader Joe’s Marshmallows

The marshmallow products of Trader Joe’s are labeled gluten-free on their official website. Not only listed with no gluten, but the marshmallows are also labeled vegan.

In this way, the Trader Joe’s Marshmallows are perfect for vegan and they are dairy-free too to minimize allergy when consumed.

Dandies Marshmallows

This is another alternative brand that provides gluten-free marshmallows you can put under the radar. There is no gelatin either in the manufacturing process of Dandies Marshmallows, making dairy-free and vegan too.

Furthermore, Dandies Marshmallows are considered safe from a variety of allergens.

These marshmallows also come with various flavor options available for you to choose from, including pumpkin, mini vanilla, vanilla, and peppermint.

Marshmallow Peeps

Many products of Marshmallow Peeps are labeled gluten-free. According to the official website of Marshmallow Peeps, cross-contamination sources and other potential allergens are listed to get the customers well-informed just before buying their products.

Not only that but Marshmallow Peeps are vegan-friendly due to the absence of gelatin in the manufacturing process.

Campfire Marshmallows

This is another marshmallow product that people with celiac disease can consume safely. Campfire Marshmallows are not only gluten-free but also allergen-friendly, nut-free, and dairy-free.

This makes the marshmallows a perfect option to take if you have food allergies or food intolerances. However, Campfire Marshmallows is not for vegans. This is because the marshmallow is made of gelatin.

Are Marshmallow Fluffs Gluten-Free?

Most of the time, traditional marshmallow fluff or marshmallow creme is gluten-free. Not only that but they are also made of ingredients that do not contain gluten.

However, this kind of marshmallow might also involve gluten equipment in the manufacturing process. In this way, there might be cross-contamination possibilities that come with it.

Again, carefully checking the label of the marshmallow is the best way to find if the product contains gluten hidden under other names and has cross-contamination.

Was this post helpful?

Share on:

Leave a Comment

Related Articles

Glutengetfree.com uses cookies to improve your experience and to show you personalized ads. Please accept & agree to our privacy policy.
Accept
Privacy Policy