fbpx

Is Oat Bran Gluten Free

recent post

Gluten Free Coffee Cake

How to Make Simple Germany Traditional Gluten Free Coffee Cake Coffee cake is delicious. Enjoying it with a cup of your favorite warm beverage can...

Is Nestle Coffee Mate Gluten Free

Is Nest Coffee Mate gluten free? The Following Explanation! Many people think that coffee is an important drink to be enjoyed before starting activities and...

Gluten Free Decaf Coffee

Decaf Coffee, an Alternative of Gluten Free Decaf Coffee That Is Said to Be Healthier In general, coffee does not contain gluten so it will...

Gluten Free Coffee and Walnut Loaf

Try This Delicious Gluten Free Coffee and Walnut Loaf If you are going to put some love into a loaf, then you would love to...

Gluten Free Bisquick Coffee Cake

How to Make a Homemade Gluten-Free Bisquick Coffee Cake Have you always wanting to make your own homemade gluten free Bisquick coffee cake? Making a...

Oat Bran for Celiac Disease Sufferer: Is It Safe?

Gluten contained in foods is able to trigger the immune system in the body of celiac disease sufferers to damage small intestines. So, people who are suffered from celiac disease must avoid consuming foods which contain gluten. Seeds usually contain gluten, but not all seeds.

Is Oat Bran Gluten Free

So, what kinds of seeds which are gluten free and safe to be consumed by celiac disease sufferers? What about oat bran? Is oat bran gluten free?

Seeds that Must be Avoided by Celiac Disease Sufferers

Gluten is a protein that is found in some seeds so that it is pretty hard for the sufferers of celiac disease to choose which seeds they can consume and which other ones they must avoid. However, seeds are included as an important food source for the body. Carbohydrate, fibers, and various minerals and vitamins are contained in seeds. The kinds of seeds that must be avoided by celiac disease sufferers are wheat, including wheat flour, wheat seeds, and oat bran, black wheat or rye, and barley. So that for you who are wondering whether is oat bran gluten free or not, no, it is not gluten free.

It is probably easy for the celiac disease sufferers to avoid gluten from those seeds. However, it will be pretty hard to know the gluten content in processed foods. You will probably need to ask what the processed foods are made from, what flour is used, and many more. Make sure the processed foods you consume such as biscuits and cookies are free from gluten or free from seeds which contain gluten.

Why Is Oat Bran not Gluten Free?

Actually, oat itself does not contain gluten and not dangerous for people who are suffered from celiac disease. However, the process production of oat bran is usually contaminated by wheat. From the harvest until the process in the manufacturer. So, for celiac sufferers who want to consume oat bran, if it is possible, find the product that is labeled with gluten free. Moreover, do not forget to read the ingredients written in the package of the product. Make sure the oat bran or whatever oat products you buy are free from gluten.

Seeds that Can be Consumed by Celiac Disease Sufferers

Some kinds of seeds do not contain gluten so that they are safe to be consumed by people who are suffered from celiac disease. Those seeds are corns, soy, brown rice, soba, and quinoa. Celiac disease sufferers have an abnormal immune system. Their immune system is not able to recognize gluten as a food substance. It will react when there is protein gluten get into the body. When the celiac disease sufferers consume foods which contain gluten, the small issues in the small intestines will be damaged and cause inflammation. This makes intestines cannot absorb the nutrients contained in foods well.

As a result, the sufferers lack important nutrients needed by the body. In kids, this can disturb their development and growth.

Those are the information you should know about Oat Bran Gluten Free.

related posts

author

Emma Hayes

There I was in a hot yoga studio with plenty of bright natural light and bending myself into pretzel like positions for the very first time.

instagram